February 18, 2014

Oscar predictions for 2014

I'm a big fan of the Academy Awards, and usually try to watch it each year - although it gets harder now that they only broadcast the unedited ceremony in Australia during the day, and I have a job. I don't think the Oscars in any way represent the authoritive voice on the best films, performances, scripts, etc, of any given year, but I do think they represent the changing political and personal landscape of Hollywood and the American film industry. Here are my predictions for what's going to win next month.

Best Picture: 12 Years a Slave.
Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity.
Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyer's Club.
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine.
Best Supporting Actor: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips.
Best Supporting Actress: Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine.

Best Original Screenplay: Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack, Dallas Buyer's Club.
Best Adapted Screenplay: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave.
Best Animated Feature: Frozen.
Best Foreign Language Feature: The Hunt.
Best Documentary Feature: The Act of Killing.
Best Documentary Short: The Lady in Number 6
Best Animated Short: Get a Horse.
Best Original Score: Steven Price, Gravity.
Best Original Song: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, "Let It Go" from Frozen.
Best Sound Editing: Oliver Tarney, Gravity.
Best Sound Mixing: Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood-Smith and Chris Munro, Gravity.
Best Production Design: Catherine Martin and Beverley Dunn, The Great Gatsby.
Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, Prisoners.
Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews, Dallas Buyer's Club.
Best Costume Design: Patricia Norris, 12 Years a Slave.
Best Film Editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Singer, Gravity.
Best Visual Effects: Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould, Gravity.

Come back after the ceremony and we'll see what score I get out of 23. Feel free to list your own predictions in the comments below if you want to play.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.